11 Responses to MDT 2010: Disable User Account Control (UAC) in Windows 7 or Windows 8

  1. How do you change the UAC setting from regular default – to Notify me when change will be done without the system dimming. can you provide me the correct Reg ADD for that please

  2. Brian says:

    I have updated the post with the information you have requested. Let me know if there is any other information you need.

  3. Danny says:

    Hello, thank you for your response. Not sure if we covered this in the Commandline in MDT I tried of the registry configurations – “Notify me only when programs try to make changes my computer (do not Dim my desktop)
    > “Don’t Modifiy me when I make changes to windows settings”

    ” Not Recommanded. Choose this option only if takes a long time to dim the desktop to your computer

    I wanted MDT to automaticly drop to this UAC access

    What is the full reg key for this please. Since I don’t want to disable it completely. is the above answer is what I need to resolve that issue?

    • Brian says:

      In my post I have listed the exact registry key values that will allow you to achieve any of the 4 settings that Windows has to offer. To get to “Notify me only when programs try to make changes my computer (do not Dim my desktop)”, you will need to change the values in the commands I have listed to the following:

      ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin=5
      EnableLUA=1
      PrompOnSecureDesktop=0

      The exact commands will now look like:

      cmd /c reg add HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin /t REG_DWORD /d 5 /f

      cmd /c reg add HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v EnableLUA /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

      cmd /c reg add HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v PromptOnSecureDesktop /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

      • danny says:

        I created 3 separate command line in MDT with the exact commands provided however MDT failed once attempted to do it. Was there a specific way to input them ?

  4. Brian says:

    Are you running these as a Task Sequence: Run Command Line or Run Synchronous Command in the Unattended.xml?

  5. danny says:

    I am adding them in the Task Sequence.

    • Brian says:

      Since it is the Task Sequence Run Command Line, you should not have to use cmd /c. What stage in the Task Sequence are you running the commands?

  6. Til Has says:

    Hi Guys,

    Not sure if this is related but I am having trouble running a batch file in a task sequence that refers to a network share to install an application. These are silent installs and I think that when the script launches the application no steps are taken to accept the UAC (Even though I cant see the box appear) and the application fails to install.

    Is there any way around this?

    I have currently setup 3 applications to run as a command line and 3 to run as an install application. The 3 command line applications don’t work but the run application deployments work.

    So to confirm:

    – Running a command line in the task sequence to initiate a bat file to install an application
    – Command line text box pints to the UNC path of the bat file on the file server
    – Start in text box is left blank
    – I am currently running it as a domain admin account and loading the users profile
    – I have also checked the continue on error checkbox under the options tab.

    I hope this is clear and makes sense.

    Please advise if you can help out.

    Thanks,

    Til Has

Leave a Reply

